• SoundStage! Shorts - McIntosh Laboratory MA252 Integrated Amplifier (November 2017)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Hegel H90 and H190 Integrated Amplifiers (October 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - How Hegel's SoundEngine Works (October 2017)
  • SoundStage! InSight  - Estelon History and YB and Extreme Loudspeakers (September 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - What Makes Hegel Different? (August 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - Estelon Extreme Legacy Edition Loudspeaker (July 2017)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Amphion Overview and Technologies (July 2017)
  • SoundStage! Insight - Totem Acoustic Signature One Loudspeaker (June 2017)
  • SoundStage! Encore - The Cowboy Junkies'
  • SoundStage! Shorts -- Anthem's STR Integrated Amplifier (May 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts -- Paradigm's Perforated Phase Alignment (PPA) Lenses (March 2017)
  • SoundStage! InSight -- Paradigm's Persona 9H Loudspeaker (March 2017)
  • SoundStage! InSight -- Contrasts: Dynaudio's Contour and Focus XD Speaker Lines (February 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - New Technologies in MartinLogan's Masterpiece Series
  • SoundStage! Shorts - Dynaudio/Volkswagen Car Audio (December 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Gryphon Philosophy and the Kodo and Mojo S Speakers (January 2017)
  • SoundStage! Shorts -- What's a Tonmeister? (November 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - AxiomAir N3 Wireless Speaker System (December 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Bang & Olufsen BeoLab 90 (November 2016)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - Gryphon Diablo 120 Integrated Amplifier (October 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Dynaudio History and Driver Technology (October 2016)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - The Story How Gryphon Began (September 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - Devialet History, ADH Technology, and Expert 1000 Pro (September 2016)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - Devialet's Phantom Loudspeakers (August 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - McIntosh Home Theater and Streaming Audio (July 2016)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - McIntosh MC275 Stereo Amplifier (June 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - McIntosh History and Autoformer Technology (June 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - NAD Viso HP50 Headphones (May 2016)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - GoldenEar Technology's Anechoic Chamber (May 2016)
  • SoundStage! Shorts - PSB's M4U 4 Earphones (April 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight - GoldenEar Technology's Triton Two+ and Three+ Loudspeakers (March 2016)
  • SoundStage! Shorts -- KEF's LS50 (February 2016)
  • SoundStage! InSight -- Monitor Audio's Platinum II Series (January 2016)
  • SoundStage! Shorts -- Pryma 0|1 Headphones (December 2015)
  • SoundStage! InSight -- KEF's Blade Two Loudspeaker (November 2015)
  • SoundStage! InSight -- KEF and the Uni-Q (October 2015)
  • SoundStage! InSight -- Monitor Audio Acoustics & Aesthetics (August 2015)
  • SoundStage! InSight -- PSB's Imagine T3 Loudspeaker (June 2015)
  • SoundStage! InSight -- Hegel's H160 Integrated Amplifier-DAC (April 2015)
  • SoundStage! InSight -- MartinLogan's Neolith Loudspeaker (February 2015)

To Hans Wetzel,

I was very happy to learn of your upcoming review of the [Devialet Silver] Phantom. I’ve been following the product since I first heard about it, but, as you say, all the reviews have been of a single Phantom, and not by audiophiles. It seems it could be just what I’m looking for, but I was reluctant to take a chance on it because, as you also say, there’s nothing else like it, so I just didn’t know what to expect. When a local dealer finally got a pair, the audition didn’t go well because of problems with the Spark app. So I’m very eager to read your review, particularly because you plan to make it so thorough.

Regarding thoroughness, could I please ask you to address some issues that are very important for me (and, I suspect, other readers)? First, I’m interested in reducing cables and boxes, so what’s the simplest way to store, connect, and play local files? Second, I want to use Roon to integrate my local files with Tidal, but I’ve heard it isn’t compatible with the Spark app, which is required to use the Dialog. Is there a way to make it work? Finally, how’s the sound quality at low volume? I live in an apartment, so I can’t listen at loud levels.

Another point while I have your attention: I’m happy to see a site dedicated to reasonably priced gear. I consider $5000 a lot to spend (two Phantoms, Dialog, and two Branch stands), so I’m grateful for your site’s focus. Fewer boxes and cables reduce clutter and complexity, but can also lower prices, and it looks like we’re seeing more of those options -- active speakers paired with minimalist sources, wireless systems, etc., so please keep us informed of their quality.

Thanks for your consideration. I look forward to reading your review.

Brian
United States

My review will be thorough, but I am happy to answer some of your questions now.

Regarding the reduction of cables and boxes, and what the easiest way is to store local files, Devialet promises NAS support at some indeterminate point in the future. Long term, that seems like the best solution.

Given the Phantom’s (and Silver Phantom’s) current functionality, you’re limited to whatever compatible content currently resides on devices that can run the company’s Spark app. Currently, there are Mac, PC, iOS, and Android applications available. In my case, that meant that when Spark was up and running on all of my devices, I could wirelessly access and play all local content on my iPhone 6, iPad Air 2, older MacBook Pro with external USB HDD, and my newer MacBook Pro. In short, if there is content on (or attached to) a computer or mobile device, you should be able to seamlessly see and play such content through the Spark app. At one point during the review period, I was sitting on my couch playing music off the laptop in my hands, and within the Spark app on that computer, able to queue up and play content from my iPhone, iPad, and older MacBook Pro, all from the original Spark client. I have heard that Spark was buggy when it was initially released, and it was not quite perfect during my time with it, but after the latest firmware update, I can confirm I haven’t run into a single issue with it. I found it to be an intuitive, competent, and reliable software client.

Roon might be an issue. I can’t be 100% certain, but I don’t think Roon and Spark will play nicely together. That said, with Spark it was easy to navigate between local content on my networked devices, and my Tidal subscription. With a single, unified playlist across all Spark clients, it was a breeze to add songs from multiple sources. Spark does not offer the complete integration of Tidal content with local content the way that Roon does, but going back and forth between the built-in Tidal interface and local content was a one-step process. I’m generally highly critical of a product’s user interface and the end-user experience. To me, Spark is not quite perfect, but I have happily lived with it on a daily basis for the last few months. The thing to remember, though, is that Devialet releases software and firmware updates on a consistent basis, so I would expect continual, iterative improvement on that front.

Low-volume sound quality is excellent. Broadly speaking, I think the Phantom or Silver Phantom is most at home as a stereo pair attached to a television (and its associated devices, such as a cable box, Blu-ray player, or game console) in up to a moderately large living space. When your neighbors are royally annoying you, however, rest assured, two Phantoms or Silver Phantoms are up to the challenge of keeping them wide awake into the early morning hours. Like you, I value consolidation, minimalism, and high-performance products that are plausibly attainable by the average, hard-working audiophile. To my mind, Devialet is definitely heading in the right direction – more to come. . . . Hans Wetzel